May you suggest a toolchain/workflow

If you have problems understanding something or getting started, ask here

Moderator: joepal

May you suggest a toolchain/workflow

Postby wildcard_seven » Sun Oct 14, 2012 5:27 pm

Essentially I want to use makehuman to make headshot icons for a web application. I run linux, but I couldn't get makehuman working properly there, so I got it up and running in my windows xp virtualbox.

Anyhoo, I'm not a web designer or graphically orientated by any means. I'm pretty much a programmer with some barebones web essentials. That said, the crudest thing I could come up with is to get my head the way I wanted, change facial expressions, and take a screenshot for editing. If there is a better way, using different tools, if needed, I'd love to know.

Also, a search brought up some different eyecolors to import (blue, hazel, and others that weren't included in the base package). If there are any other imports floating around out there (extra hair, facial hair), I'd be pleased to hear about them.

Thanks
wildcard_seven

Re: May you suggest a toolchain/workflow

Postby derek » Mon Oct 15, 2012 4:35 pm

Try exporting a mhx and using it in blender. you can overwrite the texture file for the body and helpers (delete the colour information) which should leave you with just a head. You can change the expressions inside of blender and render screenshots from in there. As makehuman does not have a keyable camera, i'd favour this method.

In the libraries tab you will find plenty of hair options alongside the eye colours. I don't think anyone's uploaded facial hair files, but there's plenty of weird poly hair.

Just to check, are you using the latest stable version of makehuman, or are you using the latest nightly build? the two will differ significantly, because we're into bugtesting phase on Alpha 7, and there's a whole load of new features included since we* last versioned up.