How to use FaceIt on MakeHuman models?

Discussions about MakeHuman, Blender and MPFB. It is ok to ask for general Blender support here, even if it isn't directly related to MakeHuman

How to use FaceIt on MakeHuman models?

Postby MrColz » Thu Jun 23, 2022 8:42 pm

Hello,

I have done the whole process of assigning vertices and aligning the face templates (the teeth were a pain haha) but when the rig is generated the face really doesn't want to move. The only key that worked perfectly were the eyes. I left some pictures here. Any ideas on how to fix?

https://imgur.com/a/EQMoD0C
MrColz
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2022 9:11 pm

Re: How to use FaceIt on MakeHuman models?

Postby joepal » Sat Jun 25, 2022 12:13 pm

I have no idea. It would be hard to give an answer since I don't own FaceIt.

Maybe you already had a rig in the character, such as the default skeleton? I can see how it could be a problem if you try to mix two armature modifiers in the same mesh.
Joel Palmius (LinkedIn)
MakeHuman Infrastructure Manager
http://www.palmius.com/joel
joepal
 
Posts: 4281
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:20 am

Re: How to use FaceIt on MakeHuman models?

Postby DrHas » Fri Jul 08, 2022 11:12 pm

I'm working on it as we speak. The issue seems to be Arkit and finding a universal way to record facial mocap for retargeting. I.E Apple vs Android. I don't use Crapple, terrible digital dictators imo. I've had success in rigging and getting data transferd, but the bones are an issue. This could be a mistake at my end though and my lack of knowledge. I've started trying to use Audio2face NVIDA and Omniverse to create mocap, which Faceit also can interpret...I'm still struggling with retargeting data to model. This may be an Omniverse issue and again, my complete lack of knowledge using said software. I'm playing with it, but it will take time to work through. Audio2face is still a work in progress too. Faceit can also do FBX - there's a free Mocap app for android, but again I haven't been able to transfer data. My feeling is, it's only a matter of time, that it works but I have to figure out what I'm doing wrong or indeed not doing right! Big difference. One thing I am doing and trying is importing model into Blender with no rig. I then use Facit and Rigify. I'm very knew to rigging...it's the most boring part of the whole process lol. My point being, I'm knee deep in this stuff and bogged down. I'm having better luck with BVH files and the CMU with face rig in Blender.
DrHas
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:21 am

Re: How to use FaceIt on MakeHuman models?

Postby DrHas » Fri Jul 08, 2022 11:17 pm

I forgot, I'm goinb back to Blender 2.93 LTS to see if this helps. I will be continuing these experiments over the coming weeks. I'm working on other animation projects at the moment and working on technical difficulties. I tend to start trouble shooting...get bored. Start work or trouble shooting something else, get bored and return to what I was doing before. Like voice cloning lol. I do get things done though.
DrHas
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:21 am


Return to Blender and MPFB

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests