Blender 2.8, Makehuman 1.2 and Rigs

Discussions about MakeHuman and Blender. It is ok to ask for general Blender support here, even if it isn't directly related to MakeHuman

Blender 2.8, Makehuman 1.2 and Rigs

Postby tre4bax » Thu May 16, 2019 9:21 pm

Hi There,

I am getting back into Blender and Makehuman after a pause. Loaded the new transfer stuff from 1.2 and my model just popped across (so cool). I rigged it with the MH game rig and when I pulled it across I used the setting in the plugin to add IK, however the IK does not seem to work in blender. Instead of moving/rotating the joint moving moves just the handle and rotation does nothing (though some do work none of the "floating" handles work :-) ). Is there something obvious to this due to my picking this up again on different versions that are new?

Also any idea where I find the Makeclothes plugin under 2.8. I kinda expected it where the input pluggin was and it does not show up there :-)
tre4bax
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 9:06 pm

Re: Blender 2.8, Makehuman 1.2 and Rigs

Postby loki1950 » Thu May 16, 2019 10:00 pm

None of our plug-ins are completely stable on 2.8 as 2.8's API is still a moving target.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo Ideapad 320-15ABR Win 10
User avatar
loki1950
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:27 pm
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

Re: Blender 2.8, Makehuman 1.2 and Rigs

Postby tre4bax » Fri May 17, 2019 10:55 am

loki1950 wrote:None of our plug-ins are completely stable on 2.8 as 2.8's API is still a moving target.

Enjoy the Choice :)


:-) Many thanks. I'm glad its that and not just me ;-) Just seemed like a logical conclusion to work with the latest versions even though Blender is beta and Makehuman is Alpha. The challenge of being a techie I guess.
tre4bax
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 9:06 pm

Re: Blender 2.8, Makehuman 1.2 and Rigs

Postby loki1950 » Fri May 17, 2019 4:29 pm

Yeah being on the bleeding edge does lead to nose bleeds ;) one of the reasons I switched from fedora to Mint as my Linux distro.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo Ideapad 320-15ABR Win 10
User avatar
loki1950
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:27 pm
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

Re: Blender 2.8, Makehuman 1.2 and Rigs

Postby joepal » Fri May 17, 2019 4:46 pm

Running the latest alpha of makehuman is recommended, and mostly it'll work fine with the latest blender 2.80. You'll just have to fall back to blender 2.79 for some specific tools for creating assets for MH.
Joel Palmius (LinkedIn)
MakeHuman Infrastructure Manager
http://www.palmius.com/joel
joepal
 
Posts: 3528
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:20 am

Re: Blender 2.8, Makehuman 1.2 and Rigs

Postby tre4bax » Sun May 19, 2019 12:40 pm

Ta Joepal. I will be keeping up with these now.

The experience is great though, getting the model across was really easy. I tried some other options before coming back to MH and nothing was as easy as this. My feeling is strong integration with Blender should be MHs secret sauce.
tre4bax
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 9:06 pm


Return to Blender

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests