How to trace through makehuman source?

If your topic doesn't fit anywhere else, put it here.

Moderator: joepal

How to trace through makehuman source?

Postby chris.f.rice » Wed Feb 16, 2022 3:00 pm

Hello, I'm a software developer, although new at python, trying to understand how makehuman works. I've followed the instructions at (1) below, and the command line entry

py makehuman.py

works great, it runs fine. But I'm trying to understand what code is run when I move a slider, so I'm looking for a way to trace through. I run this:

python -m trace --trace makehuman.py

and it runs the program, and starts printing the called functions, which is *perfect* except it stops after a few seconds (while the program keeps running). Perhaps it overwhelms the console window?

Then I run this, which is supposed to save trace information to the local folder

python -m trace --count -C . makehuman.py ...

However, *no* new files are created, I'm not sure why -- is there some way that makehuman is not traceable? So, I'm stuck right now on how to trace things. Can anyone provide any insight into what I'm doing wrong above, or maybe if someone has a better way to trace through the makehuman code as it runs?

Thanks *very* much.

1) https://github.com/makehumancommunity/m ... /README.md
chris.f.rice

Re: How to trace through makehuman source?

Postby Aranuvir » Mon Feb 21, 2022 12:37 am

Interesting approach to inspect MakeHuman's functionality. I didn't know about this before. Since the trace result is written to stdout, it is possible to simply redirect the stream to a text file.
A quick test run for about 1.5 minutes resulted in a 1.3 GB file, and MakeHuman did not even fully start. I assume that's less suitable to get to know the code.

Maybe the classical way by using an IDE like Pycharm CE and digging through the code might be more helpful...
Aranuvir

Postby RobBaer » Tue Feb 22, 2022 1:17 pm