Image export for storyboards.

If your topic doesn't fit anywhere else, put it here.

Moderator: joepal

Image export for storyboards.

Postby Dragonshair » Mon Aug 26, 2019 11:11 am

G'day folks.
I am new to this whole field, so please excuse my ignorance. I also about to ask a question that will probably have me shunned by every animator on the planet.

I write SF stories and I want to use makehuman to create story board panels. This means creating the characters that I want, in the poses that I want, then exporting them as 2D images. Preferably to drag/drop into Powerpoint.

Is there any way I can do this or do I need to re-think how I export them and create the story boards?

Makehuman is ideal for my needs where creating the visual characters is concerned, but only if I can export as I need to.

Any suggestions or information will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Col.
Dragonshair
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:24 am
Location: Geurie, NSW

Re: Image export for storyboards.

Postby RobBaer » Mon Aug 26, 2019 12:56 pm

There are a number of ways to address saving 2D images, but perhaps the most straight forward is to use the camera on the right side (just to the left of the question mark).

On Windows, the "grabbed" image will be saved in C:\Users\%USERNAME%\Documents\makehuman\v1py3\grab if you are using version 1.2.0 alpha 3 and in C:\Users\%USERNAME%\Documents\makehuman\v1\grab if you are using MH 1.1.1.
User avatar
RobBaer
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 3:30 pm
Location: Kirksville, MO USA

Re: Image export for storyboards.

Postby wolgade » Mon Aug 26, 2019 9:42 pm

Keep in mind that you can't create poses inside MH. This has to be done with a program like Blender.
wolgade
 
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 6:50 pm

Re: Image export for storyboards.

Postby loki1950 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 11:14 pm

And while you are in blender it's rendering engines are much more sophisticated and you can have multiple characters in frame interacting which you can not do within MH.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo Ideapad 320-15ABR Win 10
User avatar
loki1950
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:27 pm
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

Re: Image export for storyboards.

Postby Dragonshair » Mon Aug 26, 2019 11:25 pm

loki1950 wrote:And while you are in blender it's rendering engines are much more sophisticated and you can have multiple characters in frame interacting which you can not do within MH.

Enjoy the Choice :)


Thanks, folks.
I was kind of hoping I wouldn't have to learn blender as well, but I guess I just need to bite the bullet. I tried exporting the image from the grab, but the resolution wasn't very good.

It is my understanding that I need to use an add-on for either/both makehuman and blender to be able to export between them??

Thanks again for the help.

Col.
Dragonshair
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 3:24 am
Location: Geurie, NSW

Re: Image export for storyboards.

Postby loki1950 » Tue Aug 27, 2019 2:19 am

The best is mhx2 a plug-in exporter for Mh and the corresponding blender add on importer BTW blender's version 2.8 has cleaned up the workflow and changed it's GUI as well no more right click select :shock: plus there are lots of tutorials on YouTube.I have a dual monitor setup so running the tutorial on my left screen and blender in the right works for me not a full on blenderhead yet :lol:

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box::HP Envy i5-6400 @2Q70GHzx4 8 Gb ram/1 Tb(Win10 64)/3 Tb Mint 18/GTX745 4Gb acer S243HL K222HQL
Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/8 Gb ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb Mint 17.3 64 bit Win 10 32 bit acer and Lenovo Ideapad 320-15ABR Win 10
User avatar
loki1950
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:27 pm
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

Re: Image export for storyboards.

Postby RobBaer » Fri Sep 06, 2019 2:52 am

Dragonshair wrote: I tried exporting the image from the grab, but the resolution wasn't very good.


If it is only resolution in your way, one other possibility is to use the render tab, set the resolution higher, hit render, then "save as".
User avatar
RobBaer
 
Posts: 894
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 3:30 pm
Location: Kirksville, MO USA


Return to General discussions about makehuman

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest