Target is jagged but not in Blender

If you have problems understanding something or getting started, ask here

Moderator: joepal

Target is jagged but not in Blender

Postby BlauerKeks » Sat Jul 16, 2022 1:59 pm

I'm very new to blender and MH, so this might be an easy fix

I made a target in blender that adds ridges and similar to a face, for an alien. In blender it is smooth but when I apply it in MH it's jagged and pieces are clipping together. I went back in to blender and smoothened out the worst bits, but it doesn't help much. When I turn down the slider it gets better but then the ridges are barely visible.

I assume I might just have to smooth it out more, perhaps by zooming in extremely close and then getting rid of all edges, but is there something else I'm missing? Slowly going from low to high, it looks like the top part might be sliding into the 'upper' ridges and that's causing the edges, but I don't know
Attachments
Screenshot 2022-07-16 15.55.png
makehuman
Screenshot 2022-07-16 15.54.33.png
Blender
BlauerKeks

Re: Target is jagged but not in Blender

Postby joepal » Sun Jul 17, 2022 5:23 pm

Without having seen the target or the blend file, my guess is that you're modeling the target on a vanilla basemesh in blender, whereas in MH you apply it on a model which is 50% male, 50% female, 33% african, 33% asian and 33% caucasian.

You could try to model the target on a character imported from MH instead and see if that changes things.
Joel Palmius (LinkedIn)
MakeHuman Infrastructure Manager
http://www.palmius.com/joel
joepal

Postby BlauerKeks » Wed Jul 20, 2022 12:03 pm