Vertex group incorrectly include vertices they should not

Tech support and suggestions forum. If you only have a basic question on how to get started, please use the "newbies" forum in the community section.

Moderator: joepal

Vertex group incorrectly include vertices they should not

Postby HunanbeanCollective » Tue Nov 10, 2020 5:45 am

Hello. There seems to be an issue with vertex groups and their assignments. The easiest way to demonstrate what i am trying to say is as follows:
In edit mode, Select the vertex group finger4-3l. Looking at the palm it can be seen to include a vertex on finger3, region 3.
this seems to be just the surface of a larger issue of improper vertex group assignments. by that i mean, it seems the area i think things should be covered by a vertex group extend to far, or not far enough. I am not an expert, this is just my opinion and observation.
as a test i reassigned vertex groups around, and exported a custom skeleton to see if it changed based on the weighting file that is created during that process. it did not. So, my question is, where can i change which vertices are assigned to which groups globally so it is set to my specifications, for every import? or if this is even really possible as an end user.

I truly appreciate this project. Thank you
HunanbeanCollective

Re: Vertex group incorrectly include vertices they should no

Postby punkduck » Tue Nov 10, 2020 6:26 pm

In edit mode, Select the vertex group finger4-3l. Looking at the palm it can be seen to include a vertex on finger3, region 3.
this seems to be just the surface of a larger issue of improper vertex group assignments. by that i mean, it seems the area i think things should be covered by a vertex group extend to far, or not far enough. I am not an expert, this is just my opinion and observation.