Project Devonia: ‘Manticore’ – Adventure Game [WIP] [DEMO]

For discussions related to game development, and to game development software such as Unity, Unreal Engine, Godot and so on.

Project Devonia: ‘Manticore’ – Adventure Game [WIP] [DEMO]

Postby PayItForward » Fri Feb 24, 2023 2:23 pm

Hello all,

My name’s Chris and I’m an indie author but right now in the process of making a point’n’click adventure game with the AGS game editor.
A demo in English and German for either Linux or Windows can be found on my new itch.io game account.
https://weltenberg.itch.io/project-devonia-manticore

Since I use Makehuman besides Blender to create the characters I thought I would present to you what has been done with your help.
I have the main development thread over there on the AGS forums if you want to have more insight. I will post some ideas here that concern mainly character modeling.

Watch my game trailer video on youtube or
visit my itch.io game developer profile ;)

Main hall: That’s the first room of the game. Interiors’s mostly not made with MH of course but first time you really see the character in-game.

Walk cycle: One frame of main character Lucia Torres.
I tried different rigs from ammarkoV, rez and Dreamium_blend with motion capturing data from ACCAD. Best results gave the ACCAD rig naturally but the results were generally still somewhat dissatisfactory in one way or the other. I’m not exactly sure what the issue is but it has been discussed elsewhere on the forums if I remember correctly.

Credits: That’s a still of one slide that will roll at the end of the game.
Know though that almost every asset that I used has been heavily edited or even redone so you probably won’t recognize it. Most recognizable is probably elvaerwyn’s racing suit and littleright’s bobcut.

Early drafts: First models of Lucia. In the back she still “wears” the racing suit by elvaerwyn.
If you have any questions just ask

best regards
Chris