Cover Project

Images of characters done with MakeHuman

Moderator: joepal

Cover Project

Postby Antiqua_Sphinge » Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:16 am

I'm a writer, not a graphic artist, and I just started using MH last week. This model is part of a WIP to go on a book cover since I can't afford to pay the guy who did my first three covers.

Is it realistic enough?

SwanAndroidDetX1.png
Antiqua_Sphinge

Re: Cover Project

Postby joepal » Wed Jun 28, 2017 2:32 pm

Depends on your needs I guess. But you could easily get a more realistic render without much extra effort. Assuming you are rendering in blender, take a look here: http://www.makehumancommunity.org/wiki/ ... _render%3F

On that page, you will find a link to a .blend file with proper lighting already set up (you can disregard the rest of the discussion). If you load that and import your toon, you should get a more realistic render without needing to do a whole lot more.

Without changing anything a toon will then look like this:

Add a few more tweaks and you can get a toon that looks like this:

Joel Palmius (LinkedIn)
MakeHuman Infrastructure Manager
http://www.palmius.com/joel
joepal

Postby Antiqua_Sphinge » Wed Jun 28, 2017 6:32 pm

I kind of envy the graphic artist who did my first three covers for his ease and ability -- I don't think he spent more than two hours on any one cover he made for me. Then again he's been doing his main work for publishers since the 70s. He's also sick of seeing lousy book covers by Self-Published authors.

Since I just started working with MakeHuman and Blender, prior graphics experience resizing photos or adjusting a few one-piece book covers. Let me know if this first render is on track for the basic theme I'm going for.

An android, apparently human female capable of having sex, non-threatening in appearance, with an outer integument affixed to a carbon nanotube skeletal matrix.

SwanAndroidTest1.png

**Note: The lingerie is by punkduck**