pose location in app list

Discussions that concern the community rather than the makehuman software

pose location in app list

Postby ronisegoly » Fri Aug 20, 2021 8:13 am

I can download poses from DB, and it appears as expected on my Windows folder
But in the app itself the list the entries are fixed, so how do I find the pose I just downloaded? Under which item?
ronisegoly
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 12:41 pm

Re: pose location in app list

Postby jwc » Sat Aug 21, 2021 5:07 am

If you are using the recommended method (via the MakeHuman application community tab), the pose file should automatically be placed in the correct directory and appear under the MakeHuman application Pose/Animate, Pose tab.

If you are downloading the bvh file using a browser download, then following this outline:
http://www.makehumancommunity.org/w/ima ... tories.png
the file should be put in the user directory: makehuman/<version>/data/poses
and then be visible when the Pose tab is reloaded.
jwc
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 11:59 pm

Re: pose location in app list

Postby woodcat » Sat Aug 21, 2021 11:09 am

Perhaps the disadvantage is that you can't highlight new downloaded items. The recently downloaded ones are placed among the old ones and are not marked in any way.
Curiosity killed the cat, but satisfaction brought it back.
User avatar
woodcat
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 7:53 pm
Location: Moscow

Re: pose location in app list

Postby Aranuvir » Sat Aug 21, 2021 3:01 pm

woodcat wrote:Perhaps the disadvantage is that you can't highlight new downloaded items. The recently downloaded ones are placed among the old ones and are not marked in any way.

MakeHuman provides some file sorting functions. At least it should be possible to sort the assets by modification time. Feel free to create a feature request on GitHub.
Aranuvir
 
Posts: 1276
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 2:12 pm

Re: pose location in app list

Postby ronisegoly » Sun Aug 22, 2021 11:26 am

Not sure I understood the answer
If I download a pose from community tab a new folder is created under ..../data/poses with bvh file in it
If I go to poses tab I might find it in the list but it should fall into one of existing entries, there is no indication for it as far as I could see
If I go to files tab and choose load and this directory, nothing appears in file chooser window
ronisegoly
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 12:41 pm

Re: pose location in app list

Postby joepal » Sun Aug 22, 2021 3:30 pm

ronisegoly wrote:but it should fall into one of existing entries


I don't understand what this means.

Does the pose appear at all in the list of available poses, on the pose/animate -> pose tab? If it does, what is it you want to be different?

Maybe it would help if you added a screenshot showing the problem.
Joel Palmius (LinkedIn)
MakeHuman Infrastructure Manager
http://www.palmius.com/joel
joepal
 
Posts: 4105
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:20 am

Re: pose location in app list

Postby ronisegoly » Sun Aug 22, 2021 3:49 pm

example
I opened community tab
Searched pose under description contains - tall
Found the attached one
https://www.dropbox.com/s/m7pll9cgemtde ... 4.png?dl=0
Downloaded
Gone back to pose tab
The list is as it was, I know the new pose appears in one of entries, but how do I know where?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ifaay9cc5qrp5 ... 6.png?dl=0
ronisegoly
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 12:41 pm

Re: pose location in app list

Postby woodcat » Sun Aug 22, 2021 6:21 pm

ronisegoly wrote:…but how do I know where?
It is very strange. Should be here:

Image
Curiosity killed the cat, but satisfaction brought it back.
User avatar
woodcat
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 7:53 pm
Location: Moscow

Re: pose location in app list

Postby ronisegoly » Sun Aug 22, 2021 8:02 pm

It went into list item lying, but why? I need to guess?
ronisegoly
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 12:41 pm

Re: pose location in app list

Postby woodcat » Mon Aug 23, 2021 1:52 pm

ronisegoly wrote:It went into list item lying, but why? I need to guess?

The pose should be installed automatically after downloading. No additional steps are required.

Apparently some kind of bug.

You can try to install manually, but this is not a very elegant solution.
Curiosity killed the cat, but satisfaction brought it back.
User avatar
woodcat
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 7:53 pm
Location: Moscow

Next

Return to Community discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest