The new structure of Makehuman is a huge hindrance

Discussions that concern the community rather than the makehuman software

The new structure of Makehuman is a huge hindrance

Postby Xananax » Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:16 pm

First, let me start by saying I love MH and I will continue using it. I am not following closely development, so excuse me if my post is out of place or is something already discussed.

Please believe I am not writing out of spite, but because I am very concerned about the future of MH in its current condition.

I am an animation and anatomy teacher. I often advise my students to pose 3D models, even when drawing 2D, just to get an idea of the right angle and the right proportions.

There used to be a time where I would tell them to forget about Daz, Poser, and the likes. I'd tell them:

- Download MH and Blender
- Tweak your character in MH, export
- Import in Blender and pose

Now;

- Download MH
- Scour the forums and download individually pieces of content you need
- If you want genitalia, guess which of the downloads you have to get. I don't know, get them all, try them, see what works
- Unzip each download, then Google 10mn to know where to put those downloads. Get a rough idea, but no specifics about where to put each type of download
- Just search forum posts and look into folders and try to figure what goes where. Try to figure also if you need to rename the downloads if you want them to show in a particular order/organization
- Find the MHX2 exporter by going to some other place, seemingly unrelated to MH
- Google 20mn to understand where to put the MH plugin. Find no clear answer on Mac, no answer at all for Linux
- Figure you have to put the plugin in the working directory of Makehuman. Maybe better to not install it through a package manager then. Or maybe copy files as root and get a warning from your package manager on next update