Makeup for MakeHuman in Blender Cycles

A place for unofficial tutorials posted by MH users

Moderator: joepal

Makeup for MakeHuman in Blender Cycles

Postby Mindfront » Fri Nov 11, 2016 3:08 pm

This week I experimented with a fairly flexible makeup system for MakeHuman figures in Blender Cycles.

(edit 2017-04-23, I have made minor adjustments as the first version had a problem when render with transparent world background)

I'm no makeup expert or otherwise interested in makeup but in some cases it might be fun to give the figures a little color without having to edit the skin texture.

I'm no big shot on Blender Cycles so I am quite sure that it is possible to make improvements.

The goal of this tutorial
01_Before-After.png

I chose to make separate image masks for lips, eye shadow and rouge and use the "Mapping" node to fit them on existing MakeHuman UV layout. As the final shader on each node group, I use Blender Guru's "PBR Dielectric Shader" https://www.blenderguru.com/tutorials/p ... orial-pt1/

And I use the unit metric scale 1. I do not know if that makes any difference on the mapping node if you use other scales.

First download these four images to be used as mask. You may use them freely, license CC0.
If you want to make your own masks, you can use the UV layout images as template, I post them later.

Lipstick
Makeup_Lipstick_01_MASK.png
Lipstick MASK

Rouge
Makeup_Rouge_01_MASK.png
Rouge MASK

Eyes
Makeup_Eyes_01_Liner_MASK.png
Eye_liner_MASK

Makeup_Eyes_01_Shadows_MASK.png
Eye Shadow MASK

Node group Lipstick
02_Lipstick_node_group.png
Node group Lipstick

Copy and paste value of the Mapping node:
Y: 17.1270008m
Z: 0m

Rotation: -90

Scale: XYZ: 18.2999992

Node group Rouge
03_Rouge_node_group.png
Node group Rouge

Y: 3.974m

Scale: XYZ: 4.0

Node group Eyes
04_Eye_makeup_node_group.png
Node group Eyes

Y: 7.2649999m

Scale: XYZ: 8.0299997

Final node setup to connect them with each other and the skin shader.
05_Final_setup.png
Final node setup