Tutorial Request: Making Alternate Skins

A place for unofficial tutorials posted by MH users

Moderator: joepal

Postby bennyblades » Fri Oct 10, 2014 12:09 pm

I am requesting a tutorial on how to
1. Extract a make human’s skin UV (in blender). At the moment I only see the UV as a texture and I’m not sure how to get it back in to UV format so that I can edit it. (I’m a bit of a noob when it comes to textures)
2. How to alter said UV and place it back on the Human as a Texture (I’m assuming you would need to put it back in this format to import it back in to MakeHuman
3. How to import the altered texture back in to MakeHuman.

My goal is to use make human as a repository so that I can mix and match parts for my characters and import them directly in to Blender and start animating with little to no alterations needed. At the moment I have been consecrating on making their cloths and hair but I’m going to need to eventually need to change lipstick colors, add scars, etc.
Last edited by bennyblades on Fri Oct 10, 2014 2:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bennyblades

Re: Altering Skin Texture UV

Postby Aedonix » Fri Oct 10, 2014 12:50 pm

The only method i have found is to take the skin texture and physically edit it in photoshop adding lip stick eye shadow etc to it there, then taking it through to blender and using this new texture in place of the default MH one.

If there is a better or more simple way of doing it I would love to know about it too.
Aedonix

Re: Tutorial Request: Making Alternate Skins

Postby duststorm » Sun Oct 12, 2014 8:36 am

To create a new texture you need to create a new image and accompanying material (mhmat) file, and place both in the data/skins folder (either where MakeHuman is installed, or in my documents/makehuman/v1/data/skins).